'Top Gun: Maverick'

Source: Paramount

‘Top Gun: Maverick’

The National Board Of Review (NBR) has anointed Top Gun: Maverick its best film of 2022, named Charlotte Wells’ Aftersun best directorial debut, and hounoured Argentina, 1985 and All The Beauty And The Bloodshed with the NBR Freedom of Expression Awards.

Aftersun was also among a list of the top 10 films of the year alongside the likes of Indian action epic RRR. The top five international films are All Quiet On The Western Front, Argentina, 1985, Decision To Leave, EO, and Saint Omer.

NBR’s group of film enthusiasts, filmmakers, professionals, academics, and students also named Steven Spielberg best director for The Fabelmans, Colin Farrell best actor for The Banshees Of Inisherin and Michelle Yeoh best actress for Everything Everywhere All At Once.

Lukas Dhont’s Belgian Oscar submission Close was named best international film, Marcel The Shell With The Shoes On best animation, while Brendan Gleeson from The Banshees Of Inisherin and Janelle Monáe for Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery have earned supporting acting awards.

In a good day for Banshees, Martin McDonagh took best original screenplay, while Edward Berger, Lesley Paterson and Ian Stokell prevailed in the adapted category for All Quiet On The Western Front.

Breakthrough performance awards have gone to Danielle Deadwyler for Till and Gabriel LaBelle for The Fabelmans

Top Gun: Maverick is a thrilling crowd-pleaser that is expertly crafted on every level,” said NBR president Annie Schulhof. “Tom Cruise, Joseph Kosinski, and the entire filmmaking team have succeeded in making an incredibly popular film that brought audiences back to theaters, while at the same time being a full-on cinematic achievement.”

The honorees will be celebrated at the NBR Awards Gala on January 8 2023 at Cipriani 42nd Street, in New York City.

Full list of National Board Of Review awards recipients

Best Film: Top Gun: Maverick

Best Director: Steven Spielberg, The Fabelmans

Best Actor: Colin Farrell, The Banshees Of Inisherin

Best Actress: Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best Supporting Actor: Brendan Gleeson, The Banshees Of Inisherin

Best Supporting Actress: Janelle Monáe, Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery

Best Original Screenplay: Martin McDonagh, The Banshees Of Inisherin

Best Adapted Screenplay: Edward Berger, Lesley Paterson, Ian Stokell, All Quiet On The Western Front

Breakthrough Performance: Danielle Deadwyler, Till

Breakthrough Performance: Gabriel LaBelle, The Fabelmans

Best Directorial Debut: Charlotte Wells, Aftersun

Best Animated Feature: Marcel The Shell With Shoes On

Best International Film: Close

Best Documentary: Sr.

Best Ensemble: Women Talking

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography: Claudio Miranda, Top Gun: Maverick

NBR Freedom of Expression Awards: All the Beauty And The Bloodshed and Argentina, 1985

Top Films (in alphabetical order):

Avatar: The Way Of Water
The Banshees Of Inisherin
Everything Everywhere All At Once
The Fabelmans
Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery
The Woman King
Women Talking

Top five International Films (in alphabetical order):

All Quiet On The Western Front
Argentina, 1985
Decision To Leave
Saint Omer 

Top 5 Documentaries (in alphabetical order):

All the Beauty And tTe Bloodshed
All That Breathes
Turn Every Page - The Adventures Of Robert Caro And Robert Gottlieb

Top 10 Independent Films (in alphabetical order):

Armageddon Time
Emily The Criminal
The Eternal Daughter
Funny Pages
The Inspection
A Love Song
The Wonder
To Leslie.