Source: Sony


Janicza Bravos Zola led the Film Independent Spirit Awards nominations with seven nods, followed by Lauren Hadaway’s The Novice with five and Maggie Gyllenhaal’s The Lost Daughter on four. 

All three are competing for best feature and best director, with Ninja Thyberg for Pleasure and Mike Mills for C’mon C’mon rounding out the latter category. It’s the second year in a row that four women have been nominated for best director.

The other best feature nominees are C’mon C’mon and Jonas Carpignano’s A Chiara.

The female lead category comprises Isabelle Fuhrman for The Novice, Brittany S. Hall for Test Pattern, Patti Harrison for Together Together, Taylour Paige for Zola and Kali Reis for Catch The Fair One.

In the male category, Red Rocket star Simon Rex goes up against Clifton Collins Jr. for Jockey, Frankie Faison for The Killing Of Kenneth Chamberlain, Michael Greyeyes for Wild Indian and Udo Kier for Swan Song.

On the TV side, which was launched last year, UK productions It’s a Sin and We Are Lady Parts will compete with Reservation Dogs, Blindspotting and The Underground Railroad.

A24 is the leading film distributor with 13 nominations, followed by Neon and Netflix on nine.

The 37th Film Independent Spirit Awards will be held on March 6, 2022 as a physical ceremony. The event has traditionally taken place on the eve of the Academy Awards, which are on March 27, 2022. The last Spirit Awards ceremony shifted to April 22, three days before the Oscars, in a “one time” break with tradition earlier this year.

Film Categories

Best Feature

  • A Chiara, dir. Jonas Carpignano
  • C’mon C’mon, dir. Mike Mills
  • The Lost Daughter, dir. Maggie Gyllenhaal
  • The Novice, dir. Lauren Hadaway
  • Zola, dir. Janicza Bravo

Best First Feature

  • 7 Days, dir. Roshan Sethi
  • Holler, dir. Nicole Riegel
  • Queen of Glory, dir. Nana Mensah
  • Test Pattern , dir. Shatara Michelle Ford
  • Wild Indian, dir. Lyle Mitchell Corbine, Jr.

John Cassavetes Award (best feature made for under $500,000)

  • Cryptozoo, dir. Dash Shaw
  • Jockey, dir. Clint Bentley
  • Shiva Baby, dir.Emma Seligman
  • Sweet Thing, dir. Alexandre Rockwell
  • This is Not a War Story, dir. Talia Lugacy

Best Director

  • Janicza Bravo, Zola
  • Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Lost Daughter
  • Lauren Hadaway, The Novice
  • Mike Mills, C’mon C’mon
  • Ninja Thyberg, Pleasure

Best Screenplay

  • Nikole Beckwith, Together Together
  • Janicza Bravo, Jeremy O. Harris, Zola
  • Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Lost Daughter
  • Mike Mills, C’mon C’mon
  • Todd Stephens, Swan Song

Best First Screenplay

  • Lyle Mitchell Corbine, Jr., Wild Indian
  • Matt Fifer; Story by Sheldon D. Brown, Cicada
  • Shatara Michelle Ford, Test Pattern
  • Fran Kranz, Mass
  • Michael Sarnoski; Story by Vanessa Block, Michael Sarnoski, Pig

Best Cinematography

  • Ante Cheng, Matthew Chuang, Blue Bayou
  • Lol Crawley, The Humans
  • Tim Curtin, A Chiara
  • Edu Grau, Passing
  • Ari Wegner, Zola

Best Editing

  • Affonso Gonçalves, A Chiara
  • Ali Greer, The Nowhere Inn
  • Lauren Hadaway, Nathan Nugent, The Novice
  • Joi McMillon, Zola
  • Enrico Natale, The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain

Best Female Lead

  • Isabelle Fuhrman, The Novice
  • Brittany S. Hall, Test Pattern
  • Patti Harrison, Together Together
  • Taylour Paige, Zola
  • Kali Reis, Catch the Fair One

Best Male Lead

  • Clifton Collins Jr., Jockey
  • Frankie Faison, The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain
  • Michael Greyeyes, Wild Indian
  • Udo Kier, Swan Song
  • Simon Rex, Red Rocket

Best Supporting Female 

  • Jessie Buckley, The Lost Daughter
  • Amy Forsyth, The Novice
  • Ruth Negga, Passing
  • Revika Reustle, Pleasure
  • Suzanna Son, Red Rocket

Best Supporting Male

  • Colman Domingo, Zola
  • Meeko Gattuso, Queen of Glory
  • Troy Kotsur, CODA
  • Will Patton, Sweet Thing
  • Chaske Spencer, Wild Indian

Robert Altman Award 

  • Mass, dir. Fran Kranz

Best Documentary

  • Ascension, dir. Jessica Kingdon
  • Flee, dir. Jonas Poher Rasmussen
  • In the Same Breath, dir. Nanfu Wang
  • Procession, dir. Robert Greene
  • Summer Of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised), dir.: Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson

Best International Film

  • Compartment No. 6 (Finland/Russia), dir. Juho Kuosmanen
  • Drive My Car (Japan), dir. Ryusuke Hamaguchi
  • Parallel Mothers (Spain), dir. Pedro Almodóvar
  • Pebbles (India), dir. P S Vinothraj
  • Petite Maman (France), dir. Céline Sciamma
  • Prayers for the Stolen (Mexico), dir. Tatiana Huezo

Producers Award

  • Brad Becker-Parton
  • Pin-Chun Liu
  • Lizzie Shapiro

Someone To Watch Award

  • Alex Camilleri, Luzzu
  • Michael Sarnoski, Pig
  • Gillian Wallace Horvat, I Blame Society

Truer Than Fiction Award

  • Angelo Madsen Minax, North By Current
  • Jessica Beshir, Faya Dayi
  • Debbie Lum, Try Harder!

Television Categories

Best New Non-Scripted Or Documentary Series 

  • Black and Missing
  • The Choe Show
  • The Lady and The Dale
  • Nuclear Family
  • Philly D.A.

Best New Scripted Series

  • Blindspotting
  • It’s a Sin
  • Reservation Dogs
  • The Underground Railroad
  • We Are Lady Parts

Best Female Performance In A New Scripted Series

  • Thuso Mbedu, The Underground Railroad
  • Anjana Vasan, We Are Lady Parts
  • Jana Schmieding, Rutherford Falls
  • Jasmine Cephus Jones, Blindspotting
  • Deborah Ayorinde, THEM: Covenant

Best Male Performance In A New Scripted Series

  • Lee Jung-jae, Squid Game
  • Olly Alexander, It’s a Sin
  • Michael Greyeyes, Rutherford Falls
  • Murray Bartlett, The White Lotus
  • Ashley Thomas, THEM: Covenant

Best Ensemble Cast In A New Scripted Series

  • Reservation Dogs - Devery Jacobs, D’Pharaoh Woon-A-Tai, Lane Factor, Paulina Alexis, Sarah Podemski, Zahn McClarnon, Lil Mike, FunnyBone