Nigel Lythgoe has been elected chairman of BAFTA/LA for a one-year term, effective immediately.

Brian Walton was elected deputy chair, Rebecca Segal was named secretary and Paul Steinke will serve as treasurer.

The new board of director for 2010 has also been finalised. Re-elected board members beginning a new two-year term are: Norma Acland, Clare Baren, Katherine Haber, Lythgoe, Segal, Julia Verdin and Brian Walton.

Newly elected board members beginning their first two-year term are: Melanie Greene, John Simon, Neil Stiles. Board Members beginning their second year of two-year terms are Paul Heller, Gabrielle Kelly, Maxine Leonard, Belinda Menendez, Tony Porter, Steinke, David Simon, and Pam Wilson. Donald Haber remains executive director and COO.

Lythgoe is the co-founder and president of Big Red 2 Entertainment, a newly formed company with CEO of 19 Entertainment, Simon Fuller. He most recently served as president of 19 Television, and prior to his tenure there, worked at London Weekend Television, where he was controller of entertainment and comedy.