Nine London-based film and video artists will receive funding to produce new work through the 2008 London Artists' Film and Video Awards (LAFVA), supported by Film London in partnership with Arts Council England.

This year's award recipients, each receiving up to $40,000 for proposed projects, are: Luciano Zubillaga; Stephen Connolly; Sarah Turner; Sara Preibsch; Samuel Stevens; Shezad Dawood; Anjalika Sagar & Kodwo Eshun; Sutapa Biswas; and Redmond Entwistle.

The awards are now in their eighth year.

Maggie Ellis, Head of Production, Film London said: 'We look forward to seeing the nine selected works successfully exhibited across a range of platforms and contexts both nationally and internationally. LAFVA supports and encourages ground breaking moving image practice that exemplifies London's broad and progressive moving image culture. The variety of ideas and approaches represented by applicants, whose number continues to grow year on year, reflect a rich vein of contemporary innovative artistic practice.'