The two British actors will receive their awards at the British Independent Film Awards on December 4.

Kenneth Branagh and Ralph Fiennes are to be honoured at the 14th British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs).

Ralph Fiennes will receive the Richard Harris Award and Kenneth Branagh The Variety Award at the awards ceremony on December 4 at Old Billingsgate.

The Richard Harris Award was introduced in 2003 in honour of legendary British actor Richard Harris and recognises outstanding contribution to British film by an actor. Previous winners have included John Hurt, Daniel Day-Lewis and most recently Helena Bonham Carter in 2010.

Kenneth Branagh will pick-up the Variety Award which recognises an actor, director, writer or producer who has helped to focus the international spotlight on the UK. 

The Variety Award was received last year by Liam Neeson and has previously been awarded to Sir Michael Caine, JK Rowling and Dame Helen Mirren.