Boyhood, Foxcatcher, Birdman, Phoenix, Mr Turner among critics choices.

This year’s Talinn Black Nights Film Festival (Nov 13 – 30) will host a strand of 13 films curated by Screen International critics.

The strand includes Boyhood, Foxcatcher, Birdman, Phoenix, Mr Turner, The Tribe and ‘71.

Wendy Mitchell, editor of Screen International commented: “Screen International is proud to present our Critics Choice at Tallinn’s Black Nights Film Festival. 2014 has been a banner year for filmmaking, as evidenced by the diversity and quality of the global films our critics have championed, everything from the showbiz skewering of Birdman to a remarkable Ukrainian dialogue-free thriller, the Tribe.”

Screen International critics’ selection in the programme of Black Nights:

• “Tales” (Iran / director Rakhshan Bani Etemad)

• “Black Souls” (Italy / director Francesco Munzi)

• “The Wonders” (Italy, Switzerland / director Alice Rohrwac)

• “Eden” (France / director Mia Hansen Love)

• “A Pigeon sat on a branch reflecting on existence” (Sweden, Germany, Norway, France / director Roy Andersson)

• “Mr Turner” (United Kingdom / director Mike Leigh)

• “71” (United Kingdom / director Yann Demange)

• “The Tribe” (Ukraine, Netherlands / director Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy)

• “Boyhood” (USA / director Richard Linklater)

• “Foxcatcher” (USA / director Bennet Miller)

• “Birdman, or” (USA / director Alejandro Gonzales Innaritu)

• “Leviathan” (Russia / director Andrei Zvjagintsev)

• “Phoenix” (Germany / director Christian Petzold)


The 18th Black Nights festival includes four competition programmes and a total of 19 films vying for a foreign language Oscar nomination.

Foreign language Oscar contenders in the Black Nights programme:


• Afghanistan – “A Few Cubic Meters of Love”, director Jamshid Mahmoudi

• Argentina – “Wild Tales”, director Damián Szifrón

• Australia – “Charlie’s Country”, director Rolf de Heer

• Azerbaijan – “Nabat”, director Elchin Musaoglu

• Ethiopia – “Difret”, director Zeresenay Berhane Mehari

• Georgia – “Corn Island”, director Giorgi Ovashvili

• Iran – “Today” director Reza Mirkarimi

• Iceland – “Life in a Fishbowl”, director Baldvin Zophoníasson

• Canada – “Mommy”, director Xavier Dolan

• South-Korea – “Sea Fog”, director Shim Sung-bo

• Latvia – “Rocks in My Pockets”, director Signe Baumane

• France – “Saint Laurent”, director Bertrand Bonello

• Sweden – “Force Majeure”, director Ruben Östlund

• Germany – “Beloved Sisters”, director Dominik Graf

• Czech Republic – “Fair Play”, director Andrea Sedláčková

• Chile – “To Kill a Man”, director Alejandro Fernández Almendras

• Turkey – “Winter Sleep”, director Nuri Bilge Ceylan

• Hungary – “White God”, director Kornél Mundruczó

• Russia – “Leviathan”, director Andrey Zvyagintsev