Stephen Frears' Mrs Henderson Presents won The Hollywood World Award, sponsored andpresented by Screen International, ata glitzy Hollywood Film Awards ceremony held at the Beverley Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles last night (Oct 24)

Among the already announced winners was another UKdirector, Sam Mendes, who won the best director prize for his upcoming Jarhead. The film's editor Walter Murch (another prize-winner) has been editing the film atGeorge Lucas' Skywalker Ranch. Lucas, on hand to receive the best film of theyear for the final episode of his StarWars saga, himself tipped Jarheadfor Oscar glory based on the footage that he had seen.

Among those attending the starry night were Diane Keaton,Jodie Foster, Jake Gyllenhaal, Rachel McAdams, Charlize Theron and Peter Sarsgaard plus the entire cast of Paul Haggis' Crash. Presenters included QuentinTarantino and Goldie Hawn.

The Hollywood World award is an annual initiative designed to raise theprofile of foreign-language films in the Hollywoodcommunity. A jury of 15 high profile critics and festival programmers voted forten titles on the shortlist, which included Palme d'Or winner L'Enfant, UnCertain Regard winner The Death Of Mr Lazarescu;Rotterdam hit 4; and Venice title Sympathy For Lady Vengeance.

The awards night came at the close of the Hollywood Film Festival, whichran from Oct 18 to Oct 23. The festival opened with Shane Black's Kiss Kiss Bang Bang and closed withthe world premiere of Disney's new version of HayaoMiyazaki's My Neighbour Totoro, which nowfeatures the voice talent of Dakota Fanning and her sister Elle.

Individual winners were Diane Keaton forcareer achievement, Lions Gate Films Releasing president Tom Ortenberg for leadership, Librarian of Congress Dr James Billington for film preservation, Sam Mendes for directing,Douglas Wick and Lucy Fisher for producing, Joaquin Phoenix, Charlize Theron, MatthewBroderick, and Susan Sarandon for acting, and the cast of Crash forensemble acting.

Other awards also went to Akiva Goldsman for screenwriting, HayaoMiyazaki's Howl's Moving Castle for animation, PawelEdelman for cinematography, Walter Murch for editing,Grant Major for production design, Harry Gregson-Williamsfor film composing, Dennis Muren for visual effects,Colleen Atwood for costume design, BatmanBegins for sound, Gregory Nicotero for make-upand Avy Kaufman for casting.

In addition, Jake Gyllenhaal and RachelMcAdams received the festival's breakthrough actor and actress awards, and PaulHaggis collected Hollywood Breakthrough Director of the Year Award.