French director Nicolas Silhol took the C.O.R.E Digital Pictures Award For Best Live Action Short with his psychological drama, My Name Is Dominic as the 2009 CFC Worldwide Short Film Festival wrapped this weekend.

The Best Animated Short honour went to Hanna Heilborn and David Aronowitsch for their Sweden-Denmark documentary coproduction Slaves.

The WSFF is accredited by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences; winners of the awards for Best Live-Action Short and Best Animated Short become eligible for the Academy Awards.

Another Frenchman, Frederick Vin won the C$5,000 TELUS Audience Choice Award for his Paul Rondin Is…Paul Rondin (Paul Rondin Es…Paul Rondin) while Apama Kapur received the C$5,000 Jackson-Triggs Award For Best Emerging Canadian Filmmaker for Amma. Australia’s Rhys Graham won the Best Documentary Short prize for Skin.

Best Canadian Short went to director Ky Nam Le Duc for Land Of Men while the Kodak Award for Best Cinematography in a Canadian Short was presented to Miroslaw Baszak for the The Water. An Honourable Mention went to director-cinematographer Pedro Pires for his experimental Danse Macabre. No surprise that Pires won for Best Experimental Short. And Honourable Mention in that category when to Servane Phillips and Nathalie Robison (Canada) for Inscape.

In all the WSFF presented 10 awards and over C$60,000 in cash and prizes.