The Sundance Institute has announced the six musicians chosen forthe 8th Annual Sundance Institute Composers Lab, which runs from Jul 26-Aug 11.

This year's Composers Lab Fellows are Don Byron, Barbara Cohen,Marco d'Ambrosio, Andrea Kapsalis, Ljova (Lev Zhurbin), and Gyan Riley.

Over the course of the intensive two-week lab Fellows willparticipate in workshops and creative exercises under the guidance of leadingfilm composers and film music professionals.

The world-renowned cellist Maya Beiser and percussionist StevenSchick will work with the Fellows, and this year's creative advisors includeJames Newton Howard, John Waters, composer Jeff Beal, and George S Clinton.

"Music is a crucial and often overlooked part of thefilmmaking process," Peter Golub, director of the Sundance Institute Film MusicProgramme, said.

"This lab provides a unique opportunity for emerging composers anddirectors to work together in an atmosphere that encourages experimentation."