Stars of Tomorrow 2006 - Riz Ahmed, Hayley Atwell, Juno Temple

Riz Ahmed, Hayley Atwell and Juno Temple

Source: Wiki Commons

The 2006 Stars of Tomorrow list includes now-celebrated filmmakers.

Fresh off BAFTA-nominated short film Cubs, Tom Harper was profiled in 2006 - he went on to direct the critically-acclaimed and 2016 BBC mini-series War & Peace.

Jodie Whittaker is the second Star to be made Doctor Who, after 2007’s Matt Smith. Dan Stevens has graduated from Stars to Downton Abbey to the Beast in Disney’s Beauty And The Beast remake.

Andrea Riseborough has combined film credits in Birdman and The Death Of Stalin with TV roles in Bloodline and Black Mirror.

Tristram Shapeero has a prolific career directing, with much of his work on television comedies. Hayley Atwell, an actor profiled this year, would play Peggy Carter in the Marvel Cinematic Universe whilst Juno Temple won the BAFTA Rising Star award and secured roles in blockbuster films like Black Mass and Maleficent. Riz Ahmed has featured in films including Rogue One: A Star Wars Story and Nightcrawler

A complete list of filmmakers and actors chosen as Stars of Tomorrow in 2006 is below.


  • Riz Ahmed
  • Hayley Atwell
  • Nichola Burley
  • Nonso Anozie
  • Joe Anderson
  • Andrew Simpson
  • Rafi Gavron
  • Dan Stevens
  • Rebecca Hall
  • Simon Woods
  • Lucy Holt
  • Thomas Turgoose
  • Jodie Whittaker
  • Andrea Riseborough
  • Juno Temple


  • Corina Faith, writer-director
  • Miranda Bowen, writer-director
  • Tom Harper, writer-director
  • Ben and Chris Blaine (As: The Blaine Brothers), writer-director
  • Daniel Mulloy, writer-director
  • Robert Morgan, writer-director
  • Gabriel Range, writer-director (with Simon Finch)
  • Chris Watt, writer-director
  • John Williams, writer-director
  • Simon Finch, writer-producer (with Gabriel Range)
  • Katie Hardie, writer
  • Lucy Moore, writer
  • Laurence Relton, writer
  • Richard Warlow, writer
  • Jamie Johnson, director
  • Krishnendu Majumdar, director
  • Tristam Shapeero, director
  • Wendy Bevan-Mogg and Izzy Mant, producers
  • Jane Hooks, producer
  • Barrington Paul Robinson, producer
  • David Smith, producer


  • Matt Gray, cinematographer
  • Oliver Russell, cinematographer
  • Vik Sharma, composer
  • Katie MacGregor, production designer
  • Mark Eckersley, editor
  • Dan Robinson, editor and sound designer
  • Lucien Clayton, editor