The inaugural Asian Short Film Awards@ScreenSingapore has received 90 entries from 15 countries and regions since it opened for submissions two months ago.

Countries represented include Malaysia, Japan, Hong Kong, Thailand, the Philippines, Australia, India, Iran, Bangladesh, Cambodia, New Zealand, with the majority of the films in English.

The winner will receive SGD20,000 cash prize.

Three-time Oscar winner Oliver Stone, will lead the jury which includes Singaporean film director, Eric Khoo and director and CEO of RGM Media, Devesh Chetty.

Chairman of the board of ScreenSingapore Greg Coote said: “We are extremely encouraged by the outstanding presentation of talent for this year’s Asian Short Film Awards@ScreenSingapore. It is clear from the overwhelming response that there is a vibrant and dynamic film community in Asia and ScreenSingapore is proud to provide an outlet for the growing passion and energy for this new generation of filmmakers.”

ScreenSingapore runs June 5-12.