Lena Dunham’s Tiny Furniture has won the SXSW narrative feature competition and Jeff Malmberg’s Marwencol has earned top documentary honours.

In the narrative feature contest special jury awards went to David Robert Mitchell’s Myth Of The American Sleepover for best ensemble and Brian Hasenfus for best individual performance in Phillip The Fossil.

In the audience awards, Will Canon’s Brotherhood won the narrative prize and Jim Bigham and Mark Moormann’s For Once in My Life took the documentary award.

Audience awards for Spotlight premieres, Emerging Visions, 24 Beats Per Second, Lone Star States, and Midnighters will be announced on March 22. 

In the juried short film awards, Lauren Wolkstein won the narrative strand for Cigarette Candy, Amy Grappell’s Quadrangle claimed the documentary prize, 

Nick Fox-Gieg’s The Orange took the animated award, and Guy Maddin’s Night Mayor won the experimental shorts category.

Craig Elrod’s Petting Sharks triumphed in the Texas Shorts category and Edward Kelley was awarded the Time Warner Cable & Ovation Young Filmmaker Scholarship For Texas High School Short for Give The Dog A Bone.

“I wasn’t sure how we could top or even present a programme as strong as SXSW 2009, but it feels like we did,” Film conference and festival producer Janet Pierson said. “There are some films that are rocking crowd pleasers, some that are refining the form or finding a voice, several that are inspiring, and fortunately, a wonderful few that are truly original visions.”

SXSW runs until March 21.