Orizzonti jury includes Sandra den Hamer, Jason Kliot, Nadine Labaki, Milcho Manchevski. Pierfrancesco Favino to preside.

The Venice International Film Festival (Aug 29-Sept 8) has announced juries for its Orrizzonti and Opera Prima (debut film) sections.

The Orizzonti jury will be presided over by Italian actor Pierfrancesco Favino and comprises former Rotterdam Festival director Sandra den Hamer, visual artist Runa Islam, producer Jason Kliot, director and actress Nadine Labaki, director Milcho Manchevski and Iranian director Amir Naderi.

The jury awards the Orizzonti Prize, the Special Orizzonti Jury Prize and the Orizzonti Short Film Prize.

Venice also revealed its Opera Prima (debut film) jury, headed by Shekhar Kapur and consisting of critic Michel Demopoulos, actress Isabella Ferrari, writer/director/producer Matt Reeves and French DJ and producer Bob Sinclar.

The winning director and producer of the Luigi De Laurentiis Opera Prima award will receive $100,000 from Aurelio and Luigi De Laurentiis’ Filmauro.