Bob and Harvey Weinstein will collect the Producers Guild Of America’s highest honour at the organisation’s awards ceremony in Los Angeles on Jan 26, 2013.

The Milestone Award recognises an individual or team responsible for “historic contributions to the entertainment industry.”

Previous recipients include Clint Eastwood, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Steven Spielberg, Walt Disney, James Cameron, Ron Meyer and last year’s recipient Leslie Moonves.

“Beginning in the late 1970s with Miramax Films and continuing through today with The Weinstein Company, Bob and Harvey consistently seek out, nurture and help bring audiences the stories that others are often afraid to tell,” Producers Guild national board member and awards chair Michael De Luca said.