Alexandre Desplat has picked up the film composer of the year award at the 9th World Soundtrack Awards on Saturday (October 17). The event closed the 36th Ghent International Film Festival.

Desplat, a two time Oscar nominee, also took won the award for best film score of the year for The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. Double Oscar winner A.R. Rahman took the award for best original song for Slumdog Millionaire’s Jai Ho.

Nico Muhly scooped the discovery of the year award for The Reader, while triple Oscar winner Marvin Malisch was honoured with a lifetime achievement award.

The awards were handed out at a ceremony that included performances from Desplat, Hamlisch and last year’s discovery of the year winner, Mark Streitenfeld; supported by the Brussels Philharmonic.

The public choice award went to Twilight, scored by Carter Burweel, while the Sabam award for best young European composer went to the UK’s Christopher Slaski.