Denys Arcand's Days Of Darkness, David Cronenberg's Eastern Promises and Guy Maddin's My Winnipeg were among the finalists as the Toronto International Film Festival Group (TIFFG) announced its 2007 Canada's Top Ten lists of the country's best feature and short films. The presentations were made in Toronto at an event hosted by actors Wendy Crewson and Luke Kirby.

As in previous years, the list was presented alphabetically. Three of the features are documentaries; all but one of the features screened at TIFF in September.

Commenting on the inauguration of a short film list, TIFFG director and CEO Piers Handling said in a statement: 'We're recognizing the immense range and talent demonstrated by filmmakers from across the country. Both the Top Ten features and shorts demonstrate the exceptional vitality and the cinematic achievements of our industry.'

The features were selected by a 10-member national panel of filmmakers, journalists, programmers and industry professionals including producer Roger Frappier and filmmaker Terrance Odette.

The top ten Canadian feature films of 2007: (in alphabetical order with distributor):

Days Of Darkness - Denys Arcand (Alliance Odeon Films)
Amal - Richie Mehta (Seville Pictures)
Continental, A Film Without Guns - Stephane Lafleur (Christal Films Distribution)
Eastern Promises - David Cronenberg (Alliance Odeon Films)
Fugitive Pieces - Jeremy Podeswa (Maximum Film Distribution)
My Winnipeg - Guy Maddin (Maximum Film Distribution)
A Promise To The Dead: The Exile Journey Of Ariel Dorfman - Peter Raymont (Films Transit)
The Tracey Fragments - Bruce McDonald (Alliance Odeon Films)
Up The Yangtze - Yung Chang (National Film Board of Canada and KinoSmith)
Young People Fucking - Martin Gero (Christal Films Distribution)

The top ten Canadian short films of 2007 (in alphabetical order):
Code 13, Mathieu L. Denis
The Colony, Jeff Barnaby
Dust Bowl Ha! Ha!, Sebastien Pilote
Farmer's Requiem, Ramses Madina
Les Grands, Chloe Leriche
I Have Seen The Future, Cam Christiansen
I Met The Walrus, Josh Raskin
Madame Tutli-Putli, Chris Lavis, Maciek Szczerbowski
Pool, Chris Chong Chan Fui
Terminus, Trevor Cawood