The 28th Annual IDA (International Documentary Association) Documentary Awards will be held on Dec 7 at the Director’s Guild in Los Angeles.

Shapiro has written, directed and produced film and TV specials and won more than 150 career awards.

Previous IDA Career Achievement Award recipients include Barbara Kopple, Errol Morris, Michael Moore and Les Blank.  
The organisation’s Pioneer Award will be presented to Sundance Institute’s Documentary Film Programme and Fund.
Nominees for more than a dozen IDA film achievement and special awards will be announced in late October.