Black Swan and Fox Searchlight triumphed at Saturday afternoon’s [26] Indie Spirit Awards in Santa Monica, while 127 Hours, Winter’s Bone and The Kids Are All Right left a notable impression.

Swan earned best film, director for Darren Aronofsky and lead actress for Oscar favourite Natalie Portman and made it four with Matthew Libatique’s cinematography prize.

James Franco added a fifth for Searchlight with his lead actor win for 127 Hours. Winter’s Bone claimed both supporting actor awards for Dale Dickey and John Hawkes.

Focus Features’ The Kids Are All Right earned Stuart Blumberg and director Lisa Cholodenko the best screenplay prize and Banksy’s Exit Through The Gift Shop claimed documentary honours for Producers Distribution Agency.

The King’s Speech won best foreign film for The Weinstein Company, SPC’s Get Low earned the best first feature prize and IFC Films secured two wins for Daddy Longlegs in the John Cassavetes Award for best first feature under $500,000 and Lena Dunham’s Tiny Furniture in the best first screenplay category.

As previously announced:

  • 17th Annual Acura Someone To Watch Award – Mike Ott, Littlerock.
  • 16th Annual AVEENO Truer Than Fiction Award – Jeff Malmberg, Marwencol.
  • 14th Annual Piaget Producers Award – Anish Savjani, Meek’s Cutoff.
  • Inaugural Jameson FIND Your Audience Award – Marwencol.