John Crowley's Boy A picked up the top Hitchcock d'Or prize among four awards at the 19th Festival du Film Britannique de Dinard.

The film, which stars Peter Mullan and Andrew Garfield, won the Grand Prix Jury - The Hitchcock d'Or; the Grand Marnier trophy for best screenplay for Mark O'Rowe; the Prix Kodak for Rob Hardy's cinematography; and the Hitchcock d'Argent 'Le Prix Premier du Public', awarded to the public's favourite film of the festival.

Boy A saw off the challenge of five competitors:

  • A Complete History of My Sexual Failures (Chris Waitt)
  • Clubbed (Neil Thompson)
  • Helen (Christine Molloy and Joe Lawlor)
  • The Escapist (Rupert Wyatt)
  • The Market (Ben Hopkins)

The Dinard Jury was Lambert Wilson (president), Rory McCann, Tara Fitzgerald, Lucy Russell, Aissa Maiga, Alice Taglioni, Arie Elmaleh and Valerie Kaprisky.

This year's Hearbeat Award went to Steve McQueen's Hunger, while Claire Burger picked up the British Council's award for short films for Forbach.

This year's surprise film was Michael Winterbottom's Genova which was presented by Colin Firth, while Dinard closed with Shane Meadows' Somers Town.

The Festival du Film Britannique de Dinard is supported by the UK Film Council, with the British Council and the Centre National de la Cinematographie (CNC).