Jeff Bridges, Colin Firth, Helen Mirren, Gabourey Sidibe, Christoph Waltz, Sandra Bullock (pictured) and Mo’Nique are in the running for top honours in the 16th annual Screen Actors Guild Awards.

Awards ballots will be posted out on December 29 when the entire 100,000-strong Guild membership will have the opportunity to vote. Ballots must be received by January 21 2010 and the awards ceremony is set for January 23.

The motion picture nominations are:

Lead male:

Jeff Bridges, Crazy Heart
George Clooney, Up In The Air
Colin Firth, A Single Man
Morgan Freeman, Invictus
Jeremy Renner, The Hurt Locker

Lead female:

Sandra Bullock, The Blind Side
Helen Mirren, The Last Station
Carey Mulligan, An Education
Gabourey Sidibe, Precious: Based On The Novel ‘Push’ By Sapphire
Meryl Streep, Julie & Julia

Supporting male:

Matt Damon, Invictus
Woody Harrelson, The Messenger
Christopher Plummer, The Last Station
Stanley Tucci, The Lovely Bones
Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds

Supporting female:

Penélope Cruz, Nine
Vera Farmiga, Up In The Air
Anna Kendrick, Up In The Air
Diane Kruger, Inglourious Basterds
Mo’nique, Precious: Based On The Novel ‘Push’ By Sapphire

Cast performance:

An Education  (Dominic Cooper, Alfred Molina, Carey Mulligan, Rosamund Pike, Peter Sarsgaard, Emma Thompson, Olivia Williams)

The Hurt Locker (Christian Camargo, Brian Geraghty, Evangeline Lilly, Anthony Mackie, Jeremy Renner)

Inglourious Basterds (Daniel Bruhl, August Diehl, Julie Dreyfus, Michael Fassbender, Sylvester Groth, Jacky Ido, Diane Kruger, Mélanie Laurent, Denis Menochet, Mike Myers, Brad Pitt , Eli Roth, Til Schweiger, Rod Taylor, Christoph Waltz, Martin Wuttke)

Nine (Marion Cotillard, Penélope Cruz, Daniel Day-Lewis, Judi Dench, Fergie, Kate Hudson, Nicole Kidman, Sophia Loren)

Precious: Based On The Novel “Push” By Sapphire (Mariah Carey, Lenny Kravitz, Mo’nique, Paula Patton, Sherri Shepherd, Gabourey Sidibe)