Lord Puttnam revealed as the president of the jury for this year’s Asia Pacific Screen Awards.

David Puttnam is to head the international jury for this year’s Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA), which will take place on Australia’s Gold Coast on December 2.

Puttnam follows previous international jury presidents Huang Jianxin (China), Bruce Beresford (Australia) and Shabana Azmi (India).

The announcement was made by APSA chairman Des Power last night (May 16) at the international launch of the fourth annual APSA presented in partnership with FIAPF – the International Federation Of Film Producers Associations and the Screen Producer’s Association Of Australia (SPAA).

An international cultural initiative of the Queensland Government, APSA honours the works of film-makers across a region covering 70 countries, one third of the earth and half the world’s film output. Films are judged on cinematic excellence and the way in which they attest to their cultural origins. Entries opened on May 3.

The other members of the jury will be announced later in the year and the films selected to contend for the coveted award will be announced in early October. Jury members will meet on Australia’s Gold Coast in late November ahead of the APSA Ceremony on December 2.