Christian Berger claimed top honours in the feature film category for his work on The White Ribbon at the 24th Annual American Society Of Cinematographers’ (ASC) awards.

The other nominees at Saturday’s [February 27] Los Angeles awards show were Barry Ackroyd for The Hurt Locker, Dion Beebe for Nine, Mauro Fiore for Avatar and Robert Richardson for Inglourious Basterds

Caleb Deschanel collected the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award from his daughters Zooey and Emily Deschanel.

The ASC International Award was presented to Chris Menges by Tim Roth.  The ASC Presidents Award went to Sol Negrin, in recognition of his accomplishments as a cinematographer, and for his ongoing commitment to preparing the next generation for the future.

The ASC also recognised the next generation of cinematographers with the presentation of the ASC Richard Moore Student Heritage Award to graduate student Benji Bakshi of the American Film Institute, and undergraduate Garrett Shannon from Loyola Marymount University.