Cinematography branch representative Dante Spinotti, Lisa Cholodenko for the directors branch, executive Dick Cook, effects artist John Knoll, sound technician Scott Millan and Bill Condon of the writers branch are the six first-timer governors voted on to the board.

Cholodenko was elected to complete the two years remaining on directors branch governor Paul Mazursky’s term after the latter stepped down at the end of 2011.

Seven incumbents were re-elected while Michael Mann of the directors branch, Arthur Hamilton from music and Kathleen Kennedy from the producers branch return to action.

The re-elected governors are Tom Hanks, actors branch; Jim Bissell, designers; Rob Epstein, documentary; Mark Goldblatt, film editors; Leonard Engelman, makeup and hairstylists; Rob Friedman, public relations and Bill Kroyer; short films and feature animation.

Governors who were not up for re-election and continue on the board are: Ed Begley Jr and Annette Bening, actors branch; John Bailey and Richard Crudo, cinematographers; Rosemary Brandenburg and Jeffrey Kurland, designers; Kathryn Bigelow, directors; Michael Apted and Michael Moore, documentary; Jim Gianopulos and Robert Rehme, executives; Anne V Coates and Michael Tronick, film editors; Charles Fox and David L Newman, music; Gale Anne Hurd and Hawk Koch, producers; Cheryl Boone Isaacs and Marvin Levy, public relations; Jon Bloom and John Lasseter, short films and feature animation; Curt Behlmer and Don Hall, sound; Craig Barron and Richard Edlund, visual effects; and Frank Pierson and Phil Robinson, writers.

Three governors represent each of 14 of the Academy’s 15 branches and each governor may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or re-elects one governor each year. A single governor represents the makeup artists and hairstylists branch.