It may have been a tough year for securing titles and attracting talent but the 57th Edinburgh International Film Festival closed in style on Sunday with the British premiere of Sundance prize-winner American Splendor.

Earlier in the day star Paul Giamatti and cartoonist Harvey Pekar, the subject of the film, had accepted the Guardian New Directors Award on behalf of directors Shari Springer Berman and Robert Pulcini.

Dagur Kari's debut feature Noi Albinoi and Li Yang's Blind Shaft received special commendations in this category.

The Standard Life Audience Award went to Alison Peebles for Afterlife. The first feature under the New Found Films scheme run by Scottish Television, Grampian Television and Scottish Screen, the low-budget drama tells a moving story of a hotshot journalist forced to choose between professional ambition and family ties.

The Michael Powell Award for Best British Feature went to David Mackenzie's Young Adam which had opened the Festival and will go on UK release in September. Former film critic Richard Jobson's directorial debut 16 Years Of Alcohol received a special commendation from the jury.

The Sunday evening closing gala also marked the end of the Festival's longstanding deal with FilmFour which has been the principal sponsor of the event over the past five years. The search for a new sponsor to fill that financial gap will mean more challenging times ahead for the event.

Full list of prize-winners

The Guardian New Director's Award: American Splendor directed Shari Springer Berman and Robert Pulcini
Special Commendation: Dagur Kari (Noi Albinoi) and Li Yang (Blind Shaft)

The Michael Powell Award for Best New British Feature supported by the UK Film Council: Young Adam by David McKenzie.
Special commendation to 16 Years Of Alcohol by Richard Jobson.

The Standard Life Audience Award: Afterlife by Alison Peebles produced by Catherine Aitken and Ros Borland.

Saltire Society Grierson Award for Short Documentary supported by Baillie Gifford She Toon: City Of Bingo directed and written by Craig Collinson produced by Russell Leven & Nick Wright

The Kodak and Dazzle Award for Best British Short Film: Love Me Or Leave Me Alone by Duane Hopkins produced by Samm Haille.

The European Short Film Award: Prix UIP Small Avalanches (Sma Skred) by Birgitte Staermose.
Special commendation to Alnoor Dewshi for Spiritual Rampage.

The McLaren Animation Award for New British Animation: Pullin' The Devil By The Tail by Stephen McCollum, produced by Pearce Moore.