Director and producer Antonia Bird, actress Eva Birthistle, screenwriterPaul Mayersberg and actor Alessandro Nivola will join Jury Chair Michael Kuhnon this year's Michael Powell Award Jury at the Edinburgh International FilmFestival (August 17-28).

13 films selected for the British Gala section of the festival areeligible for the Michael Powell Award for best new British feature film.Competing films include David McKenzie's Asylum, Nick Love's TheBusiness, Lexi Alexander's Green Street and Stephen Woolley's Stoned.(See full list below).

Previous winners include David McKenzie's Young Adam (2003);Dominic Savage's Out Of Control (2002); Tim Roth 's The War Zone (1999),and Pawel Pawlikowski's My Summer Of Love (2004).

The Awards Ceremony will be held on the final day of the EIFF, Sunday 28August.

Meanwhile, the jury for this year's European Film Academy Short Film2005 - Prix UIP and Kodak UK Film Council Award for Best British Short Film areSan Francisco Film Festival Director Linda Blackaby, Rotterdam Film Festivalprogrammer Erwin Houtenbrink and film critic Wendy Ide.

Artistic Director Shane Danielsen said: "This year we have twomagnificent juries, representing the great and the good from all sections ofthe industry."

British Gala Section

Asylum (Dir: David McKenzie)

The Business (Dir: Nick Love)

The Great Ecstasy Of Robert Carmichael (Dir:Thomas Clay)

Green Street (Dir: Lexi Alexander)

Guy X (Dir: Saul Metzstein)

Gypo (Dir: Jan Dunn)

Mirrormask (Dir: Dave McKean)

On A Clear Day (Dir: Gaby Dellal)

Rag Tale (Dir: Mary McGuckian)

Song Of Songs (Dir: Josh Appignanesi)

Stoned (Dir: Stephen Woolley)

Tsotsi (Dir: Gavin Hood)

Wah-Wah (Dir: Richard E. Grant)