The Suicide Shop [pictured], UPSIDEdown and The Zigzag Kid chosen by a committee consisting of children’s film experts.

The European Film Academy (EFA) has announced the three nominees for the 2013 EFA Young Audience Award.

Patrice Leconte’s The Suicide Shop, Bernd Sahling’s UPSIDEdown and Vincent Bal’s The Zigzag Kid will compete for the award, with the winner revealed on Young Audience Film Day, May 5. Justin Johnson (UK), Tonje Hardersen (Norway) and Florian Weghorn (Germany) chose the nominees.

On May 5, the three nominated films will be screened to an audience of 12-14 year olds in eight European cities, before the audience votes for the winner right after the screenings with the award ceremony streamed live online.

The EFA Young Audience Award is organised and presented by the EFA and EFA Productions with the support of the Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung (MDM), with the national Young Audience Film Day events organised with the support of the respective national partners.