The European Film Academy is to honourJean-Luc Godard and Michael Ballhaus.

The awards will be made at the European Film Awards in Berlin on December 1.

Godard receives a lifetime achievement award. He hasbeen making films for nearly 50 years, since his 1960 debut, A Bout De Souffle (Breathless).

The academy is also honouring his work asinformed observer and critic.

Ballhausreceives an award for European achievement in world cinema, the Prix Screen International, backed by Screen.

He is one of the most sought-aftercinematographers in the world with more than 80 feature films to his name andhas worked with directors including Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Mike Nichols, Francis Ford Coppola, Robert Redford and Wolfgang Petersen.

His workwithMartinScorsese includes his most recent film, 2006's The Departed.

Both Jean-Luc Godard and Michael Ballhaus will be among the guests at the 20th European Film Awards Ceremony on December 1 in Berlin.