French film My Son (Mon Fils A Moi) has won top honours at the San Sebastian International Film Festival sharing the Golden Shell for Best Film with Half Moon and taking the Best Actress award for Nathalie Baye.

My Son is the first feature film from director Martial Fougeron about a young boy trapped by his mother's overbearing love.

Fellow winner Half Moon (Niwemang) from director Bahman Ghobadi is a France-Iran-Iraq-Austria co-production about a group of musicians from Iranian Kurdistan looking to perform a concert in Iraqi Kurdistan.

Ghobadi is no stranger to San Sebastian having won the Golden Shell for Best Film with Turtles Can Fly in 2004. Half Moon's Nigel Bluck and Crighton Bone won the Jury Prize for Best Photography.

US director Tom DiCillo also went home happy winning the Silver Shell for Best Director and the Jury Prize for Best Screenplay for his film Delirious about a celebrity photographer (Steve Buscemi) who befriends a homeless guy (Michael Pitt), but their relationship turns sour when Pitt falls for a famous musician. "It has taken five years of his (Tom DiCillo) life to make this film. He wrote, directed and composed the music and deserves this accolade for all his hard work," says Penny Wolf from Peace Arch Films, the company handling sales for the film.

The Special Jury Prize was again awarded to an Argentinian film, The Road to San Diego (El Camino De San Diego), from Argentinean director Carlos Sorin, after last year it was won by Tristan Bauer's Blessed By Fire (Iluminados Por El Fuego). El Camino tells the story of a young man who, on hearing of Diego Maradona's critical illness, heads to Buenos Aires to give his hero a wooden statue.

The San Sebastian jury headed by Jeanne Moreau and also comprising Bruno Barreto, Isabel Coixet, Sara Driver, Bruno Ganz, Manuel Gomez Pereira and Jose Saramago awarded best actor to Juan Diego for his performance in Spanish film Vete De Mi.

The 54th San Sebastian film festival also saw the coveted 90,000 Euros prize for new directors go to Fair Play's Lionel Bailliu also from France, with a special mention to Mes de Guzman for his Philippino film The Road to Kalimugtong.

>p>And the Euros 18,000 Horizontes award for Latin American film went to Brazil's Os 12 Trabalhos, directed by Ricardo Elias, about a young ex-convict who has to prove his worth as a delivery boy by succeeding in 12 difficult tasks. Special mention went to Mexican Francisco Vargas' El Violin and El Custodio from director Rodrigo Moreno.

The Euros 14,000 Montblanc award for new screenwriters went to Yen Yen Woo and Colin Goh for Singapore Dreaming and the TCM-Audience award with a prize of Euros 30,000 was taken by Little Miss Sunshine from directors Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris.

And finally the Volkswagen Youth Award went to Peter Schonau Fog for his his film The Art of Crying, an emotional drama that tackles paedophilia through the eyes of an 11 year old boy, set for release in Denmark in April 2007.