The 2003 boardof directors for AFMA was elected at the annual membership meeting of theindependent film association yesterday, according to a statement from AFMAchairman Kathy Morgan. Morgan stressed AFMA's increasing internationalprofile, with 40% of member companies now headquaretered outside the US includingUK executives Jane Barclay, Nicole Mackey, Michael Ryan and Alison Thompson,Adriana Chiesa from Italy and Charlotte Mickie from Canada.

Elected to atwo-year term on the executive committee are: Rick Sands (Miramax Films),general vice chairperson; Michael Ryan (IAC Film & Television), vicechairperson/non-California; Barbara Mudge (ECG Worldwide Entertainment), vicechairperson.chairman, AFEA; and Howard Kaplan (Morgan Creek International),vice chairperson, finance.

Newly elected toa one-year term on the board of directors are: Barclay (Capitol Films), EhudBleiberg (Dream Entertainment), Talaat Captan (Green Communications), AdrianaChiesa (Adriana Chiesa Enterprises), Kirk D'Amico (Myriad Pictures),Mickie (Alliance Atlantis) and Michael Weiser (Modern Entertainment). MarkLindsay of Miramax International and Nick Meyer of Lions Gate FilmsInternational were elected as alternates.

Re-elected tothe board are: Rob Aft (independent), Roger Corman (New ConcordeInternational), Mark Damon (MDP Worldwide), Pierre David (World InternationalNetwork), Jere Hausfater (Intermedia), Bob Hayward (Summit Entertainment), PaulHertzberg (Cinetel Films), Brad Krevoy (MPCA), Avi Lerner (Nu Image), DavidLinde (Focus Features), Nicole Mackey (Signpost Films), Andrew Stevens(Franchise Pictures) and Alison Thompson (Pathe International).

Remaining on the executive committee for the second year oftheir two-year terms are Morgan herself (chairman), Steve Bickel (vicechairman, secretary) and Robert Meyers (vice chairman).