The Toronto Film Critics Association (TFCA) has split its 2009 best feature prize between Hunger (pictured) and Inglourious Basterds.

In another tie, Quentin Tarantino shared the screenplay award for Inglourious Basterds with Up In The Airwriters Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner.

Kathlyn Bigelow is named best director for The Hurt Locker, while Nicolas Cage and Carey Mulligan took lead acting honours for Bad Lieutenant: Port Of Call New Orleans and An Education, respectively.

“Toronto is home to a diverse and astute community of film critics,” TFCA president Brian D Johnson said. “This year’s lack of clear consensus reflects the spirited discourse that’s vital to our profession. Our awards represent a vote of confidence in cinema that breaks new ground with passionate performances and audacious vision.”

The 2009 TFCA Awards will be presented at a gala dinner on January 12, when the TFCA will also name the winner of the Rogers Best Canadian Feature Award, which carries a $10,000 cash prize.

The three pictures nominated are The Necessities Of Life by Benoit Pilon, Polytechnique by Denis Villeneuve, and Pontypool by Bruce McDonald. David Cronenberg will present the prize.

The TFCA will also present the inaugural Jay Scott Prize for emerging talent, which carries a $5,000 award. The Clyde Gilmour Award for advancing the appreciation of film will go to Mark Peranson, editor and publisher of Cinema Scope magazine.

The full list of winners:

Best Picture – tie between Hungerand Inglourious Basterds

Best performance, male –Nicolas Cage, Bad Lieutenant: Port Of Call New Orleans

Best performance, female Carey Mulligan, An Education

Best supporting performance, male – Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds

Best supporting performance, female – Anna Kendrick, Up In The Air

Best Director – Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker

Best Screenplay – tie between Inglourious Basterds written by Quentin Tarantino and Up In The Air written by Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner

Best first feature Hungerdirected by Steve McQueen


Best animated featureFantastic Mr Fox

Best foreign-language film – The White Ribbon

Best documentaryThe Cove