Ireland's arts minister John O'Donoghue has announced the creation of a new Irish Film and Television Academy.

The body will take over the running of the Irish Film and TV Awards from previous organisers The Irish Film and Television Network.

The timing of the awards will be move to February in the international awards season, from its previous November slot. The 2007 event will be held on Feb 9, with submissions from the calendar year of Jan 1 to Dec 31.

Aine Moriarty will serve as CEO of the Academy with board members including Simon Perry of the Irish Film Board, Richard Williams of the NIFTC, Clare Duignan of RTE, producer Alan Moloney and David McLoughlin of Screen Producers Ireland.

"It is heartening to see the unified support from the industry and the Minister behind the Academy," said Moriarty. "Establishing the Academy with peer voting and repositioning the IFTA Awards brings Ireland in line with other international Academies. The Academy will raise the profile of Irish talent and production by actively promoting Irish excellence, ensuring that achievements are recognized and respected throughout the world."

The Academy is now open for membership for Irish industry members working at home and internationally. Its website includes application forms and eligibility information.