The Edinburgh International Film Festival(EIFF), which holds its 60th event from Aug 14-27, has announced thejury for this year's Michael Powell Award.

Actor John Hurt will chair the jury, whichwill also include Danish director Lone Scherfig,Irish novelist John Banville, Scottish directorMichael Caton-Jones and American-born musicianChrissie Hynde.

This year's eligible films are KeithFulton and Louis Pepe's Brothers Of The Head, Clive Gordon's Cargo, Brian Cook's Colour Me Kubrick, James Marquand's Dead Man's Cards, Jeremy Brock's Driving Lessons, Douglas Mackinnon's The Flying Scotsman, Andre Piddington's TheKilling Of John Lennon, Richard Laxton's Life And Lyrics, Rankin and Chris Cottam's The Lives OfThe Saints, Paul Andrew Williams' LondonTo Brighton, Ngozi Oyelowo'sShoot The Messenger, Marc Evans' Snow Cake and Col Spector'sSomeone Else.

The Powell award, sponsored by the UK FilmCouncil and started in 1993, is named after one of the UK's most legendary film-makers. Last year'swinner was Gavin Hood's Tsotsi.