Julianne Moore will receive the 10th Anniversary Piper-Heidsick Tribute to Independent Vision at the Sundance Film Festival next month in Park City, Utah. The tribute was created "to honour a film artist who has made a significant and unique contribution to independent film." The award will be presented on Saturday Jan 20, with an onstage interview with Moore and clips from her films. Guests already confirmed include Lyle Lovett and Wallace Shawn.

Previous recipients of the award include Kevin Spacey (2000), Laura Dern (1999), Frances MacDormand (1998), Tim Robbins (1997), Dianne Wiest (1996), Nicolas Cage (1995), Gena Rowlands (1994), Denzel Washington (1993) and John Turturro (1992).

Moore has worked for some of the best directors in the business including Robert Altman (Short Cuts, Cookie's Fortune), Joel & Ethan Coen (The Big Lebowski), Louis Malle (Vanya On 42nd Street), Steven Spielberg (The Lost World: Jurassic Park), James Ivory (Surviving Picasso), Neil Jordan (The End Of The Affair), Paul Thomas Anderson (Boogie Nights, Magnolia) and Todd Haynes (Safe).

Her 2001 projects include Ridley Scott's Hannibal, Bart Freundlich's World Traveler and Ivan Reitman's Evolution.

  • Sundance has also announced its short programme, with 64 shorts selected from 2,174 entries to screen as part of a shorts film programme or preceding a feature. The Shorts Jury will present a Jury Prize in Short Filmmaking Award to a film of outstanding achievement and merit.

    Selected from the UK are Baby by WIZ, Closer by Tina Gharavi, Football by Gaby Dellal, Four PM by Samantha Bakhurst and Lea Moremont and Shadowscan by Tinge Krishnan.