The American Film Institute (AFI) has conferred honourary degrees upon Jeffrey Katzenberg and Kathleen Kennedy for their “contribution of distinction to the art of the moving image.”

The honours were bestowed during AFI Conservatory commencement ceremonies for the 2010 graduating class.

Breaking with the AFI tradition, the pair presented each other with their degrees. They have worked together on numerous projects over the years, including Raiders Of The Lost Ark and Who Framed Roger Rabbit.

Previous recipients of the AFI honorary degree include Robert Altman, Michelangelo Antonioni, Roger Corman, Robert Daly, Clint Eastwood, Nora Ephron and Ray Harryhausen.