Todd Field's In The Bedroom continued its winning streak with the end-of-year critics associations, winning the Best Picture of The Year award from the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) on Saturday night. David Lynch's Mulholland Drive - another frequent citation in the awards to date - was runner-up.

Lynch was named best director by the group, with Robert Altman runner-up for Gosford Park. Altman had won the New York critics prize last week; Mulholland Drive was the New York Critics' best picture.

Sissy Spacek, who was named best actress by the New York Film Critics, was named best actress by the LAFC for In The Bedroom, and Tom Wilkinson who was New York critics' choice for best actor was LAFC runner-up, beaten by Denzel Washington for his electrifying turn in Training Day.

Richard Eyre's Iris Murdoch biopic Iris snagged two acting prizes from LAFC. Jim Broadbent was named best supporting actor for both Iris and Moulin Rouge, while Kate Winslet was named best supporting actress.

Christopher Nolan, who won the Sundance Film Festival best screenplay prize, won the LAFCA best screenplay award for Memento, beating runners-up Terry Zwigoff and Daniel Clowes for Ghost World.

Meanwhile highly acclaimed Bosnian film No Man's Land - directed by first-timer Danis Tanovic - won the best foreign language film prize ahead of Wong Kar-wai's In the Mood For Love.

DreamWorks SKG's Shrek was named best animated film, beating its main competitor Monsters Inc from The Walt Disney Studios and Pixar.

The 27th annual achievement awards ceremony will be held on Jan 22, 2002, in Santa Monica.


Best Picture In The Bedroom
Runner-up Mulholland Drive

Best Director David Lynch Mulholland Drive
Runner-up Robert Altman Gosford Park

Best Actor Denzel Washington Training Day
Runner-up Tom Wilkinson In The Bedroom

Best Actress Sissy Spacek In The Bedroom
Runner-up Naomi Watts Mulholland Drive

Best Supporting Actor Jim Broadbent Iris & Moulin Rouge
Runner-up Ben Kingsley Sexy Beast

Best Supporting Actress Kate Winslet Iris
Runner-up Helen Mirren Gosford Park

Best Screenplay Christopher Nolan Memento
Runner-up Terry Zwigoff and Daniel Clowes Ghost World

Best Foreign Language Film No Man's Land
Runner-up In The Mood For Love

Best Documentary The Gleaners And I

Best Production Design Catherine Martin Moulin Rouge
Runner-up Grant Major The Fellowship Of The Ring

Best Animated Film Shrek
Runner-up Monsters Inc

Best Music/Score Howard Shore The Fellowship Of The Ring
Runner-up Stephen Trask Hedwig & The Angry Inch

Best Cinematography Roger Deakins The Man Who Wasn't There
Runner-up Christopher Doyle & Pin Bing Lee In The Mood For Love

New Generation award: John Cameron Mitchell Hedwig & The Angry Inch

Career Achievement Ennio Morricone

Independent/Experimental Award: The Beaver Trilogy

Special Citation to Joe Grant for lasting contributions to the art of animation from the 1930's to infinity and beyond.