The producers of Little Miss Sunshine were the surprise winners of the Producers Guild of America (PGA) theatical motion picture award.

The winner of the award has matched the best picture at the Oscars for 11 of the last 17 years.

Marc Turtletaub, David T Friendly, Peter Saraf, Albert Berger and Ron Yerxa picked up their honour at Los Angeles' Century Plaza Hotel.

The other nominees for the Darryl F Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures were: Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Steve Golin, Jon Kilik (Babel); Graham King (The Departed); Laurence Mark (Dreamgirls); Andy Harries, Christine Langan, Tracey Seaward (The Queen).

The PGA Producer of the Year Award in Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures was Darla K Anderson (Cars).