The Times BFI London FilmFestival ended its 50th anniversary edition tonight with a screening ofAlejandro Gonzalez Inarritu's Babel.

While the festival islargely non-competitive, there were four main awards presented at the closingceremony. The Sutherland Trophy for most original and imaginative first featurewent to Andrea Arnold for Red Road,the Fipresci prize went to Javier Rebollo for Lola, the Alfred Dunhill Award (with its £15,000endowment) went to producer Mark Herbert, and the Satyajit Ray Award for afirst feature with its UK premiere at the LFF went to Florian Henckel vonDonnersmarck's The Lives Of Others.

The TCM Short Film Awardwhich went to Silence Is Goldendirected by Chris Shepherd and the Grierson Award for best featuredocumentary went to Lauren Greenfield for Thin.

This year's festivalscreened 183 features and 131 shorts from 48 countries and welcomed 1649film-makers and industry professionals. The touring programme will now visit UKvenues starting in January 2007.