Pawel Pawlikowski's My Summer Of Love was named as the winner of the Michael Powell Awardfor Best British Film on the closing day (August 29) of this year'sEdinburgh International Film Festival.

His intense evocation of the fleeting relationship between twolonely teenage girls saw off competition from the likes of Ae Fond Kiss,Yasmin and Stage Beauty to secure an award that he previously won in 2000for The Last Resort.

Damien O'Donnell's Inside I'm Dancing was the clear winner of the Standard Life AudienceAward, leading a field that had included Dear Frankie, Mickybo AndMe, The Motorcycle Diaries and Hero. Previous Audience Award winners include Amelie,Billy Elliot and The Full Monty.

Morgan Spurlock's documentary Super Size Me won him the Guardian Newv Directors Award and formerEdinburgh Film Festival Director Jim Hickey won the Saltire Society GriersonAward for his documentary And So Goodbye.

The 58th Festival, and the third under Artistic DirectorShane Danielsen, weathered the traditional media criticisms over the absence ofstar names and also the loss of closing night film 2046 which director Wong KarWai continues to fine tune.

It proved to be another robust year for British features. MySummer Of Love, Yasmin and the ShaneMeadows revenge drama Dead Men's Shoes all attracted varying degrees of critical supportalthough their commercial potential was more doubtful.

The retrospective devoted to the late Italian filmmakerValerio Zurlini proved popular and international titles attracting audienceenthusiasm included Agnes Jaoui's Cannes prize-winner Comme Une Image, Zhang Yimou's Hero, Cate Shortland's directorial debut Somersault and Chilean coming-of-age drama Machuca.

The Festival did attract an A-list of arthouse talentsranging from Walter Salles to Ken Loach, cinematographer Christopher Doyle,Catherine Breillat and Malcolm McDowell who commemorated the tenth anniversaryof the death of Lindsay Anderson with sell-out readings from his diaries andwritings.

Ticket sales were reported to be around 10% up on theprevious year.

Full List of Prize-Winners

Michael Powell Award For Best New British Feature Film
My Summer Of Love (Director: Pawel Pawlikowski)

Guardian New Directors Award
Morgan Spurlock for Super Size Me

Standard Life Audience Award
Inside I'm Dancing

Saltire Society Grierson Award for Short Documentary
And So Goodbye (Director: JimHickey)
Special Commendation: Taking Cuttings (Director: Ewan McNicol)

The Kodak and UK Film Council Award for Best British Short Film
Billy's Day Out (Director:Iain B MacDonald)
Who Killed Brown Owl (Directors:Christine Molloy & Joe Lawlor)

The McLaren Animation Award For New British Animation
Good Song (Director: Shynola forBlur)
Brand Spanking (Director:John-Paul Harney)

The European Short Film Award: Prix UIP
Cleopatra's Nose(La NarizDe Cleopatra)(Director: Richard Jordan)