The ten contenders for The European Parliament’s film award, The LUX Prize, have been unveiled. Of the ten in the Official Selection, only three will go on to compete for the LUX Prize 2009.

The three films will be named during the Venice International Film Festival in September and will be shown at the European Parliament from November 2- 20. 736 Members of the European Parliament will vote on the winner and the award will be given at the European Parliament on November 25 in Strasbourg.

The LUX Prize aims to spotlight the wealth and diversity that characterises European cinema by selecting films which deal, in different ways, with European issues such as immigration and public freedom.Last year brothers Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne’s Le Silence de Lorna won the award and went on to receive financial support from the European Parliament. It followed two Albanian emigrants living in Belgium.

The ten films in the 2009 official selection are:

-Claire Denis’ 35 Rhums,

-Caroline Strubbe’s Lost Persons Area,

-Roberto Caston’s Ander,

-Rune Denstad Langlo’s North,

-Kamen Kalev’s Eastern Plays,

-Yesim Ustaoglu’s Pandora’s Box,

-Arash T. Riahi’s Fuer Ein Augenblick,

-Hans-Christian Schmid’s Sturm,

-Peter Strickland’s Katalin Varga 

-Philippe Lioret’s Welcome