Latin America's only 'A' category festival, Mar del Plata, has named its competition jury for its 19th edition, which runs from March 11-20.

The jury is composed of veteran Argentine-French cinematographer Ricardo Aronovich, Portuguese actress Maria de Medeiros, Argentine actress Ana Maria Picchio, Brazilian director-writer-actor Domingos de Oliveira, whose film Breaking Up won the festival's Golden Ombu last year, Argentine-Italian film academic and journalist Ernesto Perez, British film producer Donald Ranvaud, whose credits include City Of God and Central Station, and Spanish writer Angeles Gonzalez Sinde, who won a Goya earlier this month for La Suerte Dormida.

Miguel Pereira, in his second year as festival director, unveils the competition line-up on March 1. The Punto de Vista section, which presents an overview of the best festival films of the year, includes Bernardo Bertolucci's The Dreamers, Shari Springer Berman/Robert Pulcini's American Splendor, Christoffer Boe's Reconstruction, Tom Mccarthy's The Station Agent, Peter Greenaway's Tulse Luper Suitcases: Part 1. The Moab Stories and Mikael Hafstrom's Evil (Ondskan).

Among guests expected to attend are Hector Babenco, Bob Rafelson, Spanish actor-writer-director Jacinto Molina (aka Paul Naschy), Ken Russell, Norman Jewison and Argentine director-writer Fernando Birri.

Babenco's Carandiru opens the event; the closing film is Pupi Avati's Heart Is Elsewhere (Il Cuore Altrove).