The 12th Pusan International Film Festival (PIFF) has announced the jury for its New Currents award, which will be headed by Iranian cineaste Darjush Mehruji (The Cow).

The jury will award $30,000 each to three films by first-time directors in the New Currents section.

Mehruji will be joined by Chinese actress Yu Nan (Tuya's Marriage, The Story Of Er Mei), Romanian director Cristian Mungjiu (4 Months, 3 Weeks & 2 Days), Serbian director Goran Paskaljevic (The Powder Keg) and Korean director Lee Chang-dong (Secret Sunshine).

The Sonje award for best short and documentary in the Wide Angle section will be presented by a jury of Korean directors this year: controversial indie director Leesong Hee-il (No Regret), documentary director Choiha Dong-ha (Taxi Blues, The High Hill) and indie producer Kim Il-kwon (Taxi Blues, Annyoung Sayonara).

The award includes prize money of $10,000 for each winner.