The Film Society Of Lincoln Center has announced that Michael Douglas will be this year’s recipient of its prestigious Chaplin Award.

Douglas, who returns to the big screen next month when he reprises his Oscar winning role as Gordon Gekko in Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps, will collect the honour in New York on May 24.

“Throughout his career, Michael has entertained audiences both in front of the camera and behind the scenes, and it will be an honour to showcase his diverse body of work,” The Film Society of Lincoln Center’s board chairman Ann Tenenbaum said.

Previous honourees include Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Federico Fellini, Elizabeth Taylor, Bette Davis, James Stewart, Robert Altman, Martin Scorsese, Diane Keaton, Meryl Streep and most recently, Tom Hanks.

Douglas won the lead actor Academy Award in 1988 for Wall Street and as a producer shared the best picture award with Saul Zaentz for One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest in 1976.