Oscar-nominee Morgan Freeman will receive the American Society Of Cinematographers’ (ASC) Board Of Governors Award.

The honour is presented “to an individual who has made significant contributions to advancing the art of film-making.”

Freeman will be feted at the 24th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards in Los Angeles on February 27.

“Morgan Freeman is a consummate actor and producer who devotes his considerable talent and influence to projects that make a difference,” ASC President Michael Goi said.

“His avid participation on films with subjects such as slavery, apartheid and the Hollywood blacklist reflect his desire to inform the world through his art.”

Previous Board Of Governors Award recipients include Gregory Peck, Steven Spielberg, Martin Scorsese, Jodie Foster, Robert Wise, Francis Ford Coppola, Robert Altman, and Christopher Nolan, among others.