In a move that will set the cat among the pigeons, the group is attempting to steal a march on rival bodies and announced on Wednesday (19) it will hold the annual vote on Nov 28.

The awards will be handed out at a ceremony on Jan 9, 2012.

“As the nation’s pre-eminent critic’s group, we are excited about kicking off the annual end-of-year discussion with our new early voting date,” chairman John Anderson said. “On the basis of the films we have seen thus far, we are looking forward to another passionate debate amongst our members.”

Joining chairman John Anderson in leading the group is this year’s vice-chairman and Time Out New York senior film writer Joshua Rothkopf, who will assume the duties of chairman for 2012.

Additions to the group are returning voting member Amy Taubin of Film Comment and a new member, Salon film critic Andrew O’ Hehir.

The full list of voting members is: Thelma Adams, US Weekly; Melissa Anderson, Village Voice; John Anderson, Variety/Newsday; Michael Atkinson; Dwight Brown, NNPA Syndication/; Richard Corliss, TIME; David Denby, The New Yorker; Karen Durbin, Elle; David Edelstein, New York Magazine.

David Fear, Time Out NY; Marshall Fine, Star; Owen Gleiberman, Entertainment Weekly; J Hoberman, Village Voice; Stuart Klawans, The Nation; Lou Lumenick, New York Post; Vincent Musetto, New York Post; Joe Morgenstern, Wall Street Journal; Joe Neumaier, New York Daily News; Andrew O’Hehir, Salon; Peter Rainer, Christian Science Monitor.

Rex Reed, New York Observer; Joshua Rothkopf, Time Out New York; Andrew Sarris, Emeritus; Richard Schickel, TIME; Lisa Schwarzbaum, Entertainment Weekly; Kyle Smith, NewYork Post; Dana Stevens, Slate; Amy Taubin, Film Comment; Peter Travers, Rolling Stone; Elizabeth Weitzman, The Daily News; Armond White, New York Press; Stephen Whitty, Newhouse News Service; and Stephanie Zacharek, Movieline.