Winner to be announced on September 13, during the 23rd Cartoon Forum in Toulouse, France.

CARTOON, the European Association of Animation Film, has revealed the five nominees for this year’s Cartoon d’Or, the pan-European award for the best animated short film of the year.

Franck Dion’s Edmond Was A Donkey (France, Canada), Tomer Eshed’s Flamingo Pride (Germany), Emma De Swaef and Marc James Roels’ Oh Willy… (Belgium, France, Netherlands), Michaela Pavlatova’s Tram (France, Czech Republic) and Kyra Buschor and Cynthia Collins’ Zing (Germany) will compete for the Cartoon d’Or, with the winner revealed at an award ceremony on September 13, taking place during the 23rd Cartoon Forum in Toulouse, France.

The winner will receive a €10,000 grant, thanks to the support of the MEDIA Programme.

A jury consisting of Alain Gagnol, Esben Toft Jacobsen and Giuseppe Lagana picked the five finalists from more than 30 films which had won an award at some of Europe’s major animation festivals.