Darkest hour focus features 2

Gary Oldman consolidated his status as Oscar frontrunner with Sunday night’s best actor win at the 24th annual Screen Actors Guild Awards in Los Angeles on Sunday (January 21).

Oldman prevailed in the outstanding performance by a male actor in a leading role for his role as Winston Churchill in Working Title’s Darkest Hour.

Frances McDormand won corresponding honours in the female category for Fox Searchlight’s Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri. The film’s cast earned best performance by a cast in a motion picture.

In the supporting acting stakes, Allison Janney won for I, Tonya from Neon and 30West, and Sam Rockwell won in the male category for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.

The Crown star Claire Foy won outstanding performance by a female actor in a drama series for the Netflix series, and Sterling K. Brown took the male prize for NBC’s This Is Us.

Big Little Lies extended its notable awards season run as Nicole Kidman and Alexander Skarsgard were named outstanding actors in a television movie or limited series.

For the complete list of winners click here.