The nominations in the various competition sections have been announced at the documentary festival.

IDFA (International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam) has announced the nominees for its 26th edition. Winners will be named on Friday evening in Amsterdam.

The jury of the IDFA Competition for First Appearance will also present an extra Award in memory of Peter Wintonick, who died earlier this month.

The BankGiro Loterij IDFA Audience Award, worth €5,000, and the IDFA Music Audience Award, worth €2,500, will then also be presented.

In addition, the Mediafonds Kids & Docs Award 2013, which consists of € 15,000 with which to develop a new youth documentary, will be presented by a youth jury.

IDFA Competition for Feature-Length Documentary (€12,500)

  • Ai Weiwei The Fake Case by Andreas Johnson (Denmark);
  • Ne Me Quitte Pas by Sabine Lubbe Bakker and Niels van Koevorden (the Netherlands / Belgium);
  • Song from the Forest by Michael Obert (Germany).

IDFA Competition for Mid-Length Documentary (€10,000)

  • Kismet by Nina Maria Paschalidou (Greece / Cyprus);
  • Pussy Versus Putin by Gogol’s Wives Productions, Anonymous Anonymous (Russia);
  • Soul Food Stories by Tonislav Hristov (Bulgaria / Finland).

IDFA Competition for First Appearance (€5,000)

  • Ariel by Laura Bari (Canada);
  • Judgment in Hungary by Eszter Hajdú (Hungary / Germany);
  • My Name Is Salt by Farida Pacha (Switzerland / India).

In addition, the jury will present the Peter Wintonick Special Jury Award for First Appearance (€2,500).

IDFA Competition for Student Documentary (2,500)

  • Final Destination (Lithuania) by Ricardas Marcinkus;
  • Our Curse (Poland) by Tomasz Sliwinski;
  • Two at the Border (Germany) by Tuna Kaptan and Felicitas Sonvilla.

IDFA Competition for Dutch Documentary (€5,000)

  • Ana Ana by Petr Lom and Corinne van Egeraat;
  • Awake in a Bad Dream by Petra Lataster-Czisch and Peter Lataster;
  • Ne Me Quitte Pas by Sabine Lubbe Bakker and Niels van Koevorden.

IDFA DOC U Award (€1,500)

  • 69: Love Sex Senior by Menna Laura Meijer (the Netherlands);
  • #chicagoGirl - The Social Network Takes on a Dictator by Joe Piscatella (USA / Syria);
  • Viva Cuba Libre: Rap Is War by Jesse Acevedo (Cuba / USA).

IDFA DocLab Award for Digital Storytelling (€2,500)

  • Hollow (USA) by Elaine McMillion;
  • I Love Your Work (USA) by Jonathan Harris;
  • Just a Reflektor (USA / Canada / UK) by Vincent Morisset and Aaron Koblin.