1271395 paradise lost 3 joe berlinger

The International Documentary Association has announced the initial round of nominees for the 2017 IDA Documentary Awards. 

Nominees for best feature and best short, and awards for creative recognition, will be announced on November 1.

The IDA will honour director Marcel Mettelsiefen’s Watani: My Homeland with the Pare Lorentz Award. Also receiving a special mention in the category is Joe Berlinger’s (pictured) Intent To Destroy

In the limited series category, nominees include The Defiant Ones, Allen Hughes’ exploration of the friendship between Jimmy Iovine and Dr. Dre; The Vietnam War, Ken Burns and Lynn Novick’s 10-part, 18-hour American television documentary series; and Jenner Furst’s documentary series, TIME: The Kalief Browder Story, which tells the story of an innocent high school student who was imprisoned for three years at Rikers Island without a conviction. 

The 2017 IDA Documentary Awards nominees are:

ABC News VideoSource Award

Blood On The Mountain, dirs Mari-Lynn Evans and Jordan Freeman

Elián, dirs. Tim Golden and Ross McDonnell

Icarus, dir. Bryan Fogel

LA 92, dirs. Dan Lindsay & TJ Martin

Obit., dir. Vanessa Gould

Best Curated Series Award

American Experience, executive producer (ep) Mark Samels

Dokumania, ep. Anders Bruus

Independent Lens, ep. Lois Vossen and Sally Jo Fifer

POV, ep. Justine Nagan and Chris White

REEL SOUTH, ep. Rachel Raney and Amy Shumaker

Best Limited Series Award

Daughters Of Destiny, ep. Vanessa Roth

The Defiant Ones, ep. Allen Hughes, Doug Pray, Andrew Kosove, Broderick Johnson, and more

The Keepers, ep. Ryan White and Jessica Hargrave

The Vietnam War, ep. Ken Burns

TIME: The Kalief Browder Story, ep. Jenner Furst and Nick Sandow

Best Episodic Series Award

Anthony Bourdain Parts Unknown, ep. Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia Tenaglia and Sandra Zweig

Chef’s Table, ep. David Gelb, Matthew Weaver, Brian McGinn, Andrew Fried, Dane Lillegard and Matthew Hilliard

Leah Remini: Scientology And The Aftermath, ep. Leah Remini, Aaron Saidman, Alex Weresow, and more

MARS, ep. Ron Howard, Brian Grazer, Michael Rosenberg, Dave O’Connor, Jon Kamen, and more

Planet Earth II, ep. Michael Gunton

Best Short Form Series Award

Field Of Vision, ep. Laura Poitras, AJ Schnack and Charlotte Cook

Shorts On Time, ep. Julie Parker Benello

The Guardian Documentaries, ep. Charlie Phillips and Lindsay Poulton

The New York Times Op-Docs, ep. Kathleen Lingo

The Secret Life Of Muslims, ep. Joshua Seftel and Reza Aslan

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award

Believers, dir. Ray Whitehouse

Chomo, dir. Maayan Arad

How To Make A Pearl, dir. Jason Hanasik

Man On Fire, dir. Joel Fendelman

Room 140, dir. Priscilla Gonzalez Sainz

The 33rd edition of the annual ceremony will take place December 9 at the Paramount Theatre in Los Angeles.