Tom Hanks and Gary Goetzman are to receive the Producers Guild of America’s 2011 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television, to be presented at Producers Guild Awards ceremony on January 22 in Los Angeles.

Hanks and Goetzman formed Playtone Productions in 1998 and have produced a number of award-winning projects, most recent among them The Pacific, the ten-part World War II HBO miniseries that won the Emmy for best miniseries.

Hanks and Goetzman’s next producing project for release is the film Larry Crowne, which Hanks co-wrote, directed and stars in opposite Julia Roberts.

“Tom and Gary are extraordinarily talented producers who have changed the television landscape with extremely unique, award-winning programming,” said Paula Wagner, chair of the 2011 Producers Guild Awards. “They consistently deliver intelligent, thoughtful entertainment that has made a tremendous worldwide impact on the industry; we look forward to honoring their remarkable achievements.”

Past recipients of the Norman Lear Award include Mark Burnett, Dick Wolf, Jerry Bruckheimer, and John Wells.