Christopher Nolan is to receive the Santa Barbara International Film Festival’s Modern Master Award.

The award will be presented to the Inception writer/director/producer on January 30, 2011. The festival runs January 27-February 6.

Previous winners of the Modern Master Award include Michael Douglas, Jodie Foster, Sir Anthony Hopkins, Diane Keaton, Sean Penn, Jeff Bridges, Peter Jackson, George Clooney, Will Smith, Cate Blanchett, Clint Eastwood and James Cameron.